Permanent Diaconate

Fourteen men selected to begin formation for the permanent diaconate

By Deacon Kelley Culver
Fourteen men have been selected to begin formation for the permanent diaconate this fall.  Following an exhaustive interview process, candidates for the permanent diaconate undergo a five-year formation program.  The first year, the aspirancy year, focuses on Ignatian spirituality and allows the aspirants an opportunity to further discern their calling to the diaconate.

News Categories: 

Permanent Diaconate Ordination Form

Please fill in all applicable fields below. The Diocese of Savannah will use the information provided to create news releases for the Southern Cross, the diocesan website (, and secular newspapers. Biographies should be a maximum of 200 words. Once you have finished click 'submit'.

Deacon Daly celebrates 25 years in the diaconate

Deacon Michael Daly's 25th Anniversary Mass

Deacon Michael F. Daly celebrated his 25th anniversary in the diaconate at a Mass on May 25, 2010 at Blessed Sacrament Church in Savannah.

Here is pastor Father Jeremiah J. McCarthy's homily from the Mass:

22 permanent deacons ordained May 31, one new priest ordained June 7

Bishop J. Kevin Boland ordained 22 men to the permanent diaconate on Saturday, May 31 at 10:00 a.m., at the Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist in Savannah. The men and their parishes are:

  • J. Brian Bergeron, Our Divine Saviour, Tifton;
  • John D. Blaha, Saint Augustine, Thomasville;
  • Columbus Carter, Jr., Saint John the Evangelist, Valdosta;
  • Tirso A. Castillo, Immaculate Conception, Dublin;
  • Gerald R. Clark, Saint Frances Cabrini, Savannah;
  • Donald R. Coates, Saint Joseph, Macon;
  • Kerry C. Diver, Saint Teresa of Avila, Grovetown;
  • Thomas J. Eden, Saint Joseph, Macon;
  • Peter H. Falkenhausen, III, Saint John the Evangelist, Valdosta;
  • Richard A. Halbur, Saint Stephen, First Martyr, Hinesville;
  • David V. Hayden, Saint Joseph, Macon;
  • Robert J. Kepshire, Saint Teresa of Avila, Grovetown;
  • David L. Kriegel, Saint Michael, Fort Gordon;
  • James F. Lloyd, Saint Joseph, Augusta;
  • Kenneth R. Maleck, Saint Mary on the Hill, Augusta;
  • Michael J. McGrath, Saint Matthew, Statesboro;
  • Patrick F. Mongan, Most Holy Trinity, Augusta;
  • Reinaldo Morales-Morales, Saint Joseph. Augusta;
  • Bienvenido Perez, Jr., Hunter Army Air Field, Savannah;
  • James D. Roberge, Jr., Saint Patrick, Kathleen;
  • Joseph S. Soparas, Saint Teresa of Avila, Grovetown;
  • Albert J. Sullivan, Jr., Saint Mary on the Hill, Augusta.

Bishop Boland ordained Deacon Mariusz K. Fuks to the priesthood at the Cathedral on Saturday, June 7 at 10:00 a.m.

News Categories: 

Deacon Ephraim Williams dies in Augusta

Deacon Ephraim J. Williams died on November 22 at his residence in Augusta after a long battle with cancer. Bishop J. Kevin Boland and priests and deacons of the Diocese of Savannah celebrated Deacon Williams’ Funeral Mass on November 29 at Most Holy Trinity Church. Deacon Williams

Subscribe to RSS - Permanent Diaconate
Go to top